Lindsey C and Family.jpg

Mom of the Month for September......Lindsey

Tell us about yourself and your family.

Hi! My name is Lindsey Camarena. I live in Kingston with my husband, Dan, our two kids McKenzie (age 4), and Corben (18 months), and our 9 year old dog, a boxer-mix named Cody. I grew up in North Kitsap, moved away after high school, and moved back here 3 years ago. I am loving raising my family where I grew up! I spend my spare time at the beach with the kids, hiking, working out, reading books, writing, listening to music, watching Netflix, drinking coffee or wine dependent on the time of day it is! I work part time as a Registered Nurse at Harrison Medical Center in Bremerton.

What surprised you the most once you became a mom?

I think that I wasn't prepared for the huge transition that becoming a mom was. I took all of the prenatal and parenting classes, read all of the books, asked all of the questions, and motherhood still knocked me off of my feet! So much of becoming a mom is learning as you go. I have never known the depth of love that I have for my children, and at the same time I frequently find myself wanting a break from them. I think that motherhood is being in a constant state of contradiction with yourself!

Why did you join FIT4MOM? Why do you love it?

I was originally a part of FIT4MOM in North Carolina when my daughter was a baby. I was so happy to find that Magda opened FIT4MOM in Kitsap County and I could again find a village of fitness minded moms to connect with! I joined FIT4MOM for the whole deal - the great workouts, community of moms and friends, and chance to socialize my children while I do something for myself. I find that my mood is so much better when I get out of the house, get around positive people, and work out regularly. FIT4MOM gives me all of that.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? If you didn't have any obstacles, what dream would you pursue?

In 5 years, both of my kids will be in elementary school, so I imagine I may be working a bit more, maybe coaching their sports teams, and finding my groove as a mom of school-aged kids.

If I didn't have any obstacles, I would take some English Literature classes and write a book!

What is your favorite go to piece of baby gear?

I swear by a great piece of furniture called a Kitchen Helper Fun-Pod. Its a wooden standing-stool for kids age 12 months - 5 years. Kids can stand in the wooden pod and help with kitchen duties, stay safe and out of the way when you need them away from the oven, or stand at the kitchen counter to eat a snack. I've been using mine strong for 3 years now!

Any advice for new moms?

Give you self plenty of grace. Take those high expectations that you have for yourself and allow yourself to lower that bar a bit and be okay with that. Join a village (like FIT4MOM) and connect regularly. Motherhood can be so very isolating and its important to know that you are not alone!

Tell us something about yourself that might surprise us!

I went to Nursing School in Canada, and was one of 4 US Students in my program. I was told by the dean that my grades weren't high enough to get into the program (US students were supposed to have a 4.0 to get in due to them wanting to give Canadian students priority). Apparently my admission essay about why I wanted to be a nurse cinched my spot in the program and even made the dean cry. My passion for writing came in handy and I hope to someday pursue more writing in my future.

  • F4M_Class_Schedule_Orange.png
stroller strides free class.jpg
body back website icon.png
PEP Icon.jpg
KitsapMKlogo150x80.jpg